When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Here’s how it works.

Apple changing App Store prices in EU, Canada, Russia and other countries

Apple has quietly announced its intention to increase App Store prices for customers in the EU, Canada and Russia.

Apple has sent out an iTunes Connect notification to developers informing them of the imminent changes, which also affect Norwegian and Icelandic customers.

Prices in the EU, Canada and Norway will increase, while Icelandic customers will see decreases. Russia will also have prices changed but Apple did not specify whether the prices would increase or decrease.

The EU price changes aren't surprising as new EU laws have recently come into effect (as of January 1st 2015) that means VAT prices are no longer the same across EU territories for digital purchases.

The Russian changes are perhaps down to the currency instability in this country. Russia's currency, the Ruble, has been very unstable lately, with Apple recently suspending all online store sales as a result. Although the online store has now returned, the currency instability continues.

The reason for the increase in Norway is not clear but it may be linked to the EU tax changes. Despite it not being an EU country, it has close ties with EU member states, so perhaps the EU changes affect Norway also. The Iceland price decrease on the other hand, has not been explained by Apple.

Source: AppleInsider

Report a problem with article
Next Article

Windows 10: More Spartan features come into focus

Previous Article

App Store off to a tremendous start in 2015

Join the conversation!

Login or Sign Up to read and post a comment.

17 Comments - Add comment