Google Maps adds support for 39 new languages

If you're a native from the Balkans or the Asian continent, or constantly traveling around these regions, you might be pleased to know that Google Maps has received a new update that introduces support for an additional 39 languages to the mapping app.

In a blog post, Atsuko Yamagami, Program Manager for Google Maps, announced the addition of the 39 new languages spoken by approximately 1.25 billion people worldwide, namely:

  • Afrikaans
  • Albanian
  • Amharic
  • Armenian
  • Azerbaijani
  • Bosnian
  • Burmese
  • Croatian
  • Czech
  • Danish
  • Estonian
  • Filipino
  • Finnish
  • Georgian
  • Hebrew
  • Icelandic
  • Indonesian
  • Kazakh
  • Khmer
  • Kyrgyz
  • Lao
  • Latvian
  • Lithuanian
  • Macedonian
  • Malay
  • Mongolian
  • Norwegian
  • Persian
  • Romanian
  • Serbian
  • Slovak
  • Slovenian
  • Swahili
  • Swedish
  • Turkish
  • Ukrainian
  • Uzbek
  • Vietnamese
  • Zulu

Google Maps debuted in 2005 and it was available only in English then. Fourteen years later, according to Google, the app can now be used by more than 1 billion non-English speaking people to discover new places and find the best destinations. The update is rolling out to the Android, iOS, and desktop versions of the app.

More recently, Google Maps was updated to keep commuters informed about departure times and ETAs as well as to notify them once they have reached their destination or need to get off for their transfer.

Source: Google

Report a problem with article
Next Article

AdDuplex: Fall Creators Update now on over 90% of Windows 10 PCs

Previous Article

Playboy announces it is suspending activity on Facebook due to scandal

4 Comments - Add comment