Latest Facebook scam reuses old privacy hoax issue

Just after a scam regarding an early access to Facebook's upcoming 'dislike' feature, a new hoax is spreading on the social networking site, targeting Facebook's privacy policy this time around.

The newest scam contains a message stating that Facebook now has the power to use anyone's personal information, pictures and posts for public use. All Facebook accounts are now allegedly 'public,' and the social networking site will now charge users $5.99 to keep users' accounts private.

However, the scam offers a 'free' way to make an account 'private,' by posting the message itself on a user's wall, even taking the time to emphasize that the message should not be shared, but must be copied then pasted. The message reads:

Now it's official! It has been published in the media. Facebook has just released the entry price: $5.99 to keep the subscription of your status to be set to "private". If you paste this message on your page, it will be offered free (paste not share) if not tomorrow, all your posts can become public. Even the messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. After all, it does not cost anything for a simple copy and paste

Better safe than sorry is right. Channel 13 News was just talking about this change in Facebook's privacy policy. Better safe than sorry. As of September 28th, 2015 at 12:54p.m. Eastern standard time, I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308- 103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement atleast once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. You MUST copy and paste [sic]

What's very peculiar about the scam is that it is a replica of another Facebook deception back in January, which also features a message that will allegedly prevent the social networking site from using its users' information by a single post. Obviously, messages like this should not be believed in, as signing up for a Facebook account automatically constitutes the user's agreement to its privacy policy.

As usual, it pays to have a watchful eye over widespread messages on Facebook that seem to ask for re-posting/sharing because of some alleged pressing issue. Adjusting privacy settings can always help, or a simple reminder to friends not to share such things can work wonders for the website as well.

Report a problem with article
yoga-900-image1
Next Article

Lenovo Yoga 900 specs and images leaked

android-6.0-marshmallow-material
Previous Article

Android now supports 100MB APK files on Google Play

7 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement