PUBG PC 1.0 will launch after today's seven hours of server downtime

If you were looking to make a killing with your friends in PlayerUnknown's Battlegrounds on PC today before the launch of 1.0 tomorrow, you'll need to hurry. The servers will be down for seven hours starting at 4 p.m. PT / 7 p.m. ET / midnight GMT to make sure the transition on the backend will be smooth.

Developer Bluehole tweeted out the full downtime schedule, which actually began two hours earlier than originally anticipated. If everything goes according to plan, PC players will be able to jump into the new build of the game at 11 p.m. PT / 2 a.m. ET (December 21) / 7 a.m. GMT.

As part of the game leaving Early Access, all leaderboards will be reset. Bluehole said that it has heard the fan feedback about leaderboard instability and issues with rank updates, so it will start again from scratch with a new formula:

  • Places 1 to 1000 - same as before, number based rank
  • Below 1001 - percentage based rank
  • If a player has not played enough matches or does not have a sufficient score, their rank will not be displayed.

"We expect these changes to improve the leaderboard stability and rank update delay," Bluehole said. "Besides, we think that the new system makes for better readability in terms of understanding one’s relative position compared to the rest of the players."

The v1.0 for PC is also expected to add climbing and vaulting, which should significantly impact how players plot strategy. The new Miramar map will also finally be released.

If you can't do without your PUBG fix, you will still be able to play on Xbox One. The platform got its first significant update yesterday.

Don't forget to follow us @NeowinGaming on Twitter to keep up to date with our gaming coverage!

Report a problem with article
Previous Story

It didn't start the fire, but Mozilla fuels feud with Firefox for Fire TV

Next Story

Upcoming Pokémon Go patch will add ARKit functionality

9 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement