HP wants their 17'' LCDs back

Attention to all people who took advantage of the HP 17'' LCD deal:

They're calling everyone, wanting their monitors back. They can't do this, as you have already traded goods, a binding contract.

Tell them you're going to file a complaint with the Att. General and contact your local TV news stations. If they say they aren't going to do anything, ask for written proof.

I may not have all of this correct, as I am no lawyer. I'm just relaying the advice my boss gave me.

What?  That's nuts.  If you have one, you're fine, just keep it.  Jeez.

I know, I am. Just warning people to not play into their game. They told me, "We can't uphold the price you paid" and then finished by telling me that I'd either pay the full price or return it.

Don't believe that crap.

EDIT: The back story is that the whole cheap LCD deal was a mistake, they never meant to sell them that cheap -- yet they did.

Hey, as long as you've got it your obligation to them is done. You'll be fine. For pending orders that HP hasn't fulfilled I can understand, but for orders already filled there is nothing they can do.

where did you hear this from?

They called me.

I'll see if I can get the voicemail onto my computer when I get home later so you all can hear it.

EDIT: The back story is that the whole cheap LCD deal was a mistake, they never meant to sell them that cheap -- yet they did.

That's their problem--like I said, if you've actually got one it's yours to keep no matter what. That's the law.

I still have no idea what you're talking about. I take it HP sold a load of TFT's cheap and you've actually got them? And now they realised it was a mistake and are asking for it back?

That's their problem--like I said, if you've actually got one it's yours to keep no matter what.  That's the law.

I know, exactly. Other people who got the monitor might not understand that part though.