New Macbook in August?

Citing "sources close to Intel", TGDaily claims that Intel will be delaying their Montevina notebook platform until July 14th, with a full line of chipsets not shipping for "a couple of weeks later". The reasons for the delay are believed to include FCC certification holdups as well as integrated graphic chip failures.

Apple followers have been paying attention to the Montevina release as a possible marker for the next MacBook revision. Apple last updated the MacBook in February of this year. The latest rumors have pointed to the 3rd Quarter of 2008 (July-September) as the delivery timeframe for the next MacBook.

Intel's Montevina revision promises Mac users a faster front side bus and faster Penryn processors over the existing designs.

Source: Link (Macrumors)

Being a student, I was hoping to get a Macbook (2.4GHz), as I was also getting a free ipod touch.

Do u guys think it is better to wait for this Macbook, which may include these new processors, as the 'Back to school' offer ends on Sept 15.

Thanks.

There will always be new Macs right around the corner (well except for the mini) if you can wait for a month or two and see what happens then do it. I often find that these small increases that they offer aren't worth the wait if you really need it. I would say that the avg. user wouldn't even notice it.

There will always be new Macs right around the corner (well except for the mini) if you can wait for a month or two and see what happens then do it. I often find that these small increases that they offer aren't worth the wait if you really need it. I would say that the avg. user wouldn't even notice it.

Well I'm okay with the wait, and also I'm getting a Mac for the first time so I'm more of a avg user i guess. :)

So.. i guess i'll go with the purchase now and learn the Mac before my school begins.

Any more thoughts?

the 'Back to school' offer ends on Sept 15.