Flickr delays removal of photos beyond the 1000 limit until March 12

Late last year, Flickr announced that it would be ending its free 1TB of storage offering for members with a free account on January 8, 2019, limiting the maximum number of photos and videos they can upload to 1000. Media content beyond that limit was scheduled to be deleted after February 5, from the oldest to the newest, but some free account users encountered a problem while downloading their photos and videos.

As a result, Flickr is now putting off the deletion of excess content until March 12. Scott Kinzie, Vice President of Flickr owner SmugMug, gave the following statement to USA Today:

"Based on feedback from our members and complications some members experienced when downloading photos Monday, ... we’ve decided to extend our deletion eligibility deadline. Our goal has been to ensure that Flickr members have ample time to make an informed decision as to how they can best continue to protect and enjoy their photos on Flickr. Our foremost priority is to be certain that every Flickr member is aware that photographs may be at risk for deletion if they are stored in a Flickr Free account that has more than 1,000 photos."

That means affected users have one more month to download their content in 500-photo batches. But Flickr also hopes for free account owners to upgrade to the Pro version, which costs $50 per year for unlimited storage.

Source: USA Today

Report a problem with article
1540482501_adventure-sync
Next Article

Analyst: Pokémon GO saw higher revenues year-over-year in January

1548972567_skype5
Previous Article

Microsoft adds background blur support to Skype for desktops and laptops

11 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement