Review  When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Here’s how it works.

TerraMaster F2-212 review: Home media AV1 streaming and cloud backup on the cheap

TerraMaster reached out to me and asked if I was interested in checking out their newest entry level 2-bay TNAS device, the F2-212. I've had some experience with these devices, having recently reviewed the F2-223 and F4-423 and having owned a QNAP TS-253Be, Synology DS720+ and now the Synology DS923+, but for me, I only acquired them to do local and cloud backup and run my home theater solution using a combination of Emby and Plex.

All the aforementioned NAS devices I've owned are media-class, meaning they fully support having Emby or Plex installed on them and streaming over the network, aside from a few other things installed via Docker containers, or being able to follow a clear tutorial, that's about the extent of my expertise into the realm of network-attached storage devices goes; I'm still learning.

Here are the most important specifications:

TerraMaster F2-212
CPU Realtek 1619B (ARM V8.2 Cortex-A55 64-bit)
Quad Core, 1.7 GHz
Memory 1 GB DDR4 non-ECC (Maximum supported)
Disk Capacity 44 TB (22TB x2)
RAID Level TRAID, Single, JBOD, RAID 0, RAID 1
Network 1 x RJ-45 1 GbE (10/100/1000)
USB Ports 2 (1 x USB 2.0 and 1 x USB 3.0)
Power PSU 40W
20.1W (Seagate 4TB ST4000VN008 HDDs in R/W)
10.4W (Seagate 4TB ST4000VN008 HDDs in hibernation)
Size (H/W/D) 222 x 119 x 154 mm
Weight 1.3 Kg
Price $169.99

As you can see, it contains a Realtek processor, however I was unable to find any specific info about it other than on third party websites. Even the official Realtek page does not contain any useful information.

NAS Compares claims that the CPU is capable of decoding AV1 at 4K@60fps which is impressive within such a cheap device, not even the Intel Celeron N4505 included in the more expensive F2-223 is capable of decoding AV1 streams.