Here's how to watch Apple unveil the iPhone 7 live, on any device

The iPhone 7 has been in the news for months, surrounded by a veil of rumor and speculation with regards to its new capabilities and features. So it’s almost hard to believe that the day is finally upon us, and in just a matter of hours we’ll get to officially see the new iPhone. Apple will be kicking off its keynote at 10 AM PDT/ 1 PM EDT / 6 PM BST / 7 PM CET.

While we’ll be covering all the major announcements on the main page, you can also watch along live with the keynote. Here’s how to do it.

On an iOS device

Of course, watching the grand event on one of Apple’s device is probably the easiest route to take. If you’re on an iPhone, iPad or iPod touch all you need to do is go to Apple’s event page here. The only catch to all of this is that you’ll need to use Safari, on iOS 7 or newer.

On Apple TV and Mac

Once again things stay simple for Apple users. To get to stream keynote on your Mac all you need to do is open up Safari 6.0.5 or later, on OS X 10.8.5 or later, and head to Apple’s event page here.

If you’re on an Apple TV, the company will be highlighting the keynote on the TV’s main screen, so you can enjoy the entire keynote just by clicking that. You’ll be needing an Apple TV 2nd or 3rd generation with OS version 6.2, or the 4th generation Apple TV.

On Windows 10

Since Microsoft’s new Edge browser came out last year, Windows 10 users have the privilege of getting to watch Apple’s events in a straightforward manner. Just as if they were an Apple user, those running Windows 10 can simply fire up the Edge browser and head over to the event page. The keynote will start livestreaming once the event kicks off.

On older Windows, Linux and Android

Those running Windows 8, Windows 7 or various Linux distros need to take a roundabout way if they want to watch Apple’s keynotes live. Thankfully this isn’t a very complicated method, and all users need do is install VLC media player – in case they didn’t have it already.

Once you start up VLC, go to Media, and hit Open Network Stream. Once the window pops up copy paste this URL into it:

http://p.events-delivery.apple.com.edgesuite.net/15pijbnaefvpoijbaefvpihb06/m3u8/atv_mvp.m3u8

The keynote should start playing. This method has worked countless times in the past, but note that the stream only goes live when the keynote starts – there’s no countdown or pre-stream music.

These are the usual method of watching Apple’s events live, but as mentioned, we’ll also be featuring all of the company’s major announcements on the front page so make sure to check out our coverage for in-depth coverage of Apple’s plans.

The keynote kicks off later today with the following schedule:

  • 10:00 AM Los Angeles
  • 1:00 PM New York
  • 6:00 PM London
  • 9:00 PM Dubai
  • 10:30 PM New Delhi
  • 3:00 AM September 8th Sydney
  • 2:00 AM September 8th Tokyo
Report a problem with article
1473220539_swiftmoji
Next Article

Swiftmoji's Emoji Keyboard brings support to Android N emoticons

1473199544_gow_1_xbox_booth
Previous Article

Editorial - Horde 3.0 changed my mind about Gears of War 4

27 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement