When Google launched the first Android 11 beta a couple of weeks ago, OPPO was one of the first companies to jump on board, announcing that it would be releasing its own preview version at some point in June. Today is the day, as the company announced on its community forums that the first Android 11 developer preview for OPPO devices is now available.
As previously stated, this release is only available for the OPPO Find X2 series, specifically the OPPO Find X2 (model number CPH2023) and the OPPO Find X2 Pro (CPH2025). In addition to Android 11, the new release features OPPO's Android skin with ColorOS 7.2, up from version 7.1.
Based on OPPO's changelog, there's not a whole lot that's new in this release. The company does mention a few new features, such as automatic switching between light and dark modes, easier home device control, and quicker access to messaging notifications, but most of those features will only be available in later releases. Right now, only a couple of new features - such as an "only this time" option for permission requests and bedtime reminders - are available.
If you choose to go through and install the developer preview, it's important to remember that all of your data will be erased upon upgrading, so you'll need to make sure everything is backed up first. Additionally, being a preview, you'll likely find a few issues in this release, and it's not recommended for the majority of users.
With that in mind, you can download the upgrade package for the OPPO Find X2 or the Find X2 Pro. Then, power off the phone, and press the power button and volume down at the same time to enter recovery mode and install the update package. At this point, all your data will be erased and the Android 11 preview will be installed.
Should you find yourself wanting to go back to Android 10, you can download the rollback package for your respective phone - here for the Find X2 and here for the Find X2 Pro - and install it. In this case, you can open the package from your File Manager app without entering recovery mode, but once again, all your data will be erased.