Twitter Super Follows is finally live along with Safety Mode to block unwanted interactions

Twitter Super Follows interface on mobile

Earlier this year, Twitter gave a glimpse of new features called Super Follows and Safety Mode. Today, the company officially rolled out the new experiences to its mobile app and website.

As you may already have known, Super Follows lets users charge for subscriber-exclusive content and share it only with followers who are willing to pay. The monthly subscription can be set at $2.99, $4.99, or $9.99 a month for exclusive content, plus upcoming features including subscriber-only Spaces and newsletters.

Twitter will display the Super Follow button next to the name of a creator. Followers can then tap it to view a description of the exclusive offering and pricing. Aside from subscriber-only access, Twitter also plans to introduce the option to sign up for different subscription tiers and the ability to subscribe anonymously.

Twitter Super Follows appearing for paying subscribers on mobile

For now, only a small group of creators in the U.S. who applied for the feature can set up their subscription. If you want to join the waitlist, you can head over to the left sidebar on the Twitter app, tap Monetization, and then choose Super Follows. It's available only to users with at least 10,000 followers, who are at least 18 years old, and who have 25 tweets or more within the last 30 days.

At the moment, only people in the U.S. and Canada on iOS can Super Follow a creator, with plans for expansion worldwide over the coming weeks. Twitter vows to roll out the feature on Android and its desktop site in the future.

Twitter Safety Mode interface on a mobile device

As for the Safety Mode, Twitter says it's being tested with a small group of users on iOS, Android, and Twitter.com. The new feature is intended to help users get rid of unwanted interactions by auto-blocking accounts with malicious behavior like hateful comments or repetitive mentions.

You can turn on Safety Mode for a specific period with a maximum duration of seven days. Before that period expires, you'll see a summary of auto-blocked accounts and then decide whether to unblock them.

The feature is still in its experimental stage and Twitter admits it's potentially subject to flaws, so you have an option to undo an auto-block if it was done by error. That said, it won't block people you frequently interact with on the platform.

Report a problem with article
Joby Aviation&039s eVTOL aircraft
Next Article

NASA is conducting pioneering research into flying taxis

Windows 10 hero image with Windows Server text
Previous Article

Windows Server 2022 has hit general availability

1 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement