Large parts of internet inaccessible thanks to Akamai Edge DNS outage

the internet is broken

If you are unable to access services like PlayStation Network or Steam, as well as websites like Airbnb, and in my case even the major supermarket chains in The Netherlands as well as the mobile apps, you're not the only one. Starting at approximately 17:20 PM CET / 11:20AM ET, Downdetector began logging a spike in outage reports across a variety of online services and websites.

downdetector

Above times in the image are in CET.

Aside from the aforementioned services, LastPass, TikTok and UPS are also down as of writing. Visiting the PlayStation Store and other affected websites return a DNS error.

The source of the problem is Akamai, one of the largest content delivery networks in the world. "We are aware of an emerging issue with the Edge DNS service," the company shared in an update on its website posted at 12:09PM ET. "We are actively investigating the issue." However they have not yet disclosed what is causing the issue.

17:50 CET / 12:50 ET: Thankfully the outages appears to be short lived, as services are returning again. I can once again login to my local supermarket to place an order. Akamai has not yet updated its status page to resolved, so we're keeping an eye on it and will update if they provide further details.

The Akamai status page has been update to show "All Systems Operational" and there is one note posted at 17:09 UTC (19:09 CET 1:09 PM ET) that simply says "The incident has been mitigated" without explaining what happened:

outage

alrighty then

Report a problem with article
business-tech-patchou-h2
Next Article

Get this 2021 Entrepreneur Venture Capitalist Startup Bundle for only $39.99

TikTok logo on a mobile phone screen
Previous Article

TikTok fined a whopping €750,000 for "violating children's privacy"

10 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement