Zoom boosts user privacy with new notification warnings

The Zoom logo with a laptop in the background

The popular VoIP solution Zoom has introduced new in-app notifications that are designed to clarify which information can be seen and saved by other users across different features of Zoom. The firm said that has introduced these notifications in various locations of its apps including in the chat, transcriptions, polls, and Q&A.

While these notifications won’t protect against all gaffes, they will provide invaluable to people who only use Zoom for their work and are perhaps not as comfortable with it compared to other VoIP solutions. These notifications will ensure that users do not accidentally post unprofessional comments to the whole meeting, for example.

One of the privacy notifications in Zoom

In addition to notifications about the app’s own features, Zoom will also begin displaying notifications when the host or other participants use a connected third-party app during a call. This will let participants know that their data may be being stored by a third party and then they can decide whether they are okay to carry on with the meeting.

Zoom said that it has released these features as a part of an update due out today. To update to the latest version now, open Zoom and then press your profile picture at the top right of the window then look for check for updates. A box should appear which will tell you if you’re on the latest version of Zoom. You can read more about upgrading on the Zoom Help Center.

Report a problem with article
Visual Studio logo on a light background with purple stripes underneath
Next Article

Microsoft announces Visual Studio 2022, now in a 64-bit flavor

The logos of ARM and Nvidia on a grayish background
Previous Article

Nvidia's $40bn ARM acquisition could be foiled, UK Govt is looking into the matter

0 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement