Google announced today a new update to Chrome designed to bolster the users' privacy when sharing their screen. The browser will now automatically hide content in pop-up notifications on the web.
When you're screen-sharing, Chrome will hide sensitive information in pop-up notifications from Google Chat, email notifications, and other websites. This feature is already live for tab sharing in Google Meet.
In addition, there is a way to stop receiving further notifications by hovering over a notification and selecting the "mute" option. On the other hand, you can choose to display content in a notification by selecting "show content". This will also apply to future web pop-up notifications.
The browser will automatically display all muted notifications when you're no longer sharing your screen. Google said that the goal is to "reduce distractions and prevent sensitive or personal information from accidentally being displayed while sharing your screen."
The new feature is available to Google Workspace users with Essentials, Business Starter, Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, and Enterprise Plus accounts from today. It's also accessible to G Suite Basic, Business, Education, Enterprise for Education, and Nonprofits customers as well as those with a personal Google account.