Here's how to watch Apple's WWDC 2016 on any device

Apple’s Worldwide Developer Conference will be kicking off later on today at 10 AM PDT / 1 PM EDT and the company is expected to unveil the next versions of its operating systems. WWDC is usually a big deal, not only because Apple unveils the latest features it’s been working on, but also because the company occasionally gives us tantalizing hints regarding the next version of its iPhone.

While we’ll be covering all the major announcements on the main page, you can also watch along live with the keynote. Here’s how to do it.

On an iOS device

Of course, watching WWDC 2016 on one of Apple’s device is probably the easiest route to take. If you’re on an iPhone or iPad all you need to do is go to Apple’s event page here, and refresh the page once the keynote kicks off. There’s also a handy WWDC 2016 app, that lets you watch the stream, check out the schedule, and display important conference reminders on your Apple Watch. The only catch to all of this is that you’ll need to use Safari, on iOS 7 or newer.

On Apple TV and Mac

Once again things stay simple for Apple users. To get to stream the WWDC 2016 on your Mac all you need to do is open up Safari, on OS X 10.8.5 or later, and head to Apple’s event page here.

If you’re on an Apple TV, the company has stuck a dedicated WWDC Live app on the TV’s main screen, so you can enjoy the entire keynote juts by clicking that.

On Windows 10

Since Microsoft’s new Edge browser came out last year, Windows 10 users have the privilege of getting to watch Apple’s WWDC keynote in a straightforward manner. Just as if they were an Apple user, those running Windows 10 can simply fire up the Edge browser and head over to the WWDC 2016 event page. The keynote will start livestreaming once the event kicks off.

On older Windows, Linux and Android

Those running Windows 8, Windows 7 or various Linux distros need to take a roundabout way if they want to watch Apple’s keynotes live. Thankfully this isn’t a very complicated method, and all users need do is install VLC media player – in case they didn’t have it already.

Once you start up VLC, go to Media, and hit Open Network Stream. Once the window pops up copy paste this URL into it:

https://p.events-delivery.apple.com.edgesuite.net/15pijbnaefvpoijbaefvpihb06/m3u8/atv_mvp.m3u8

The keynote should start playing. This method has worked countless times in the past, but note that the stream only goes live when the keynote starts – there’s no countdown or pre-stream music.

Those are the usual methods of keeping up with Apple’s WWDC, but as mentioned above, we’ll also be featuring the company’s announcements on the main page so make sure to check out our coverage for more in-depth looks at the company’s plans.

The WWDC 2016 Keynote starts off around the world at these times:

  • 10:00 AM Los Angeles
  • 1:00 PM New York
  • 6:00 PM London
  • 9:00 PM Dubai
  • 10:30 PM New Delhi
  • 3:00 AM June 14th Sydney
  • 2:00 AM June 14th Tokyo
Report a problem with article
Next Article

Bethesda announces Quake Champions in cinematic trailer

Previous Article

Here's what's included in Dishonored 2 Collector's Edition

18 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement