Netflix announced today that it will start removing accounts of customers who have not watched anything on the platform for a year after they have joined the service. The company will also cancel subscriptions of those who have stopped watching content for more than two years.
The streaming service says it will begin sending notifications to customers who have been inactive to ask them if they still want to continue their subscriptions. If Netflix does not hear back from them, it will automatically end their membership. This heads-up will be sent via email or in-app notification beginning this week.
Netflix's Eddy Wu wrote in a blog post:
"You know that sinking feeling when you realize you signed up for something but haven’t used it in ages? At Netflix, the last thing we want is people paying for something they’re not using."
For customers whose accounts may be cancelled due to the latest turn of events, Netflix says reactivating a subscription is always a breeze. Also, deactivated accounts that will be restored within 10 months will retain their existing favorites, profiles, viewing preferences, and other details.
The company noted that this group of subscribers represents a few hundred thousand of its total users, or less than half of 1% of its overall subscriber base. This figure has already been reflected in Netflix's financial guidance as well.