When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Here’s how it works.

Microsoft goes after fake Halo 4 beta web site

Several days ago, Microsoft warned fans of the Halo first person shooter franchise to ignore invites to sign up for a Halo 4 beta test, as those invites were fake. Now Microsoft is going after the owners of the web site that sent those invites, Halo4beta.net

According to Fusible.com, Microsoft has officially filed a complaint about the site with the National Arbitration Forum. Microsoft will most likely make the case that the site was set up deliberately to infringe on Microsoft's copyrights to the Halo franchise and that it should be the rightful owner of the domain name. Meanwhile, the Halo4beta.net site itself has been shut down.

Microsoft did pay the owner of the Halo4.com domain name to obtain the rights to the site back in June 2011. The financial terms of the deal were not disclosed. If you type in Halo4.com you are redirected to Microsoft's Xbox.com web page that's dedicated to the game. The latest game in the first person shooter series is scheduled to be released in late 2012 for the Xbox 360 console.

A few days ago it was revealed that Microsoft had acquired a number of domains related to the Halo franchise, including clicktohump.com and clicktohump.org.

Report a problem with article
Next Article

Steve Jobs kept letter from Bill Gates at his bedside

Previous Article

Wisconsin School buys 800 iPads with Microsoft's cash

Join the conversation!

Login or Sign Up to read and post a comment.

2 Comments - Add comment