When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Here’s how it works.

Project xCloud beta sign-ups open today, preview starting in October

As promised, Microsoft took some time during today's episode of Inside Xbox to talk about Project xCloud, its cloud-based game streaming service that's set to be open for testing next month. The company's Kareem Choudhry announced that registrations for the technical preview are open starting today, and that the service will go live first in the United States, United Kingdom, and South Korea.

To be eligible for the Project xCloud technical preview, you'll need to have a Bluetooth-enabled Xbox Wireless Controller, an Android phone running Android 6.0 or higher, and a 5GHz Wi-Fi connection or mobile network with download speeds of at least 10Mbps. Microsoft has worked with SK Telecom in South Korea, Vodafone in the UK, and T-Mobile in the United States in order to enable the best cloud gaming experience on its service. Of course, you'll also need the dedicated Xbox Game Streaming app, which will be available when the preview goes live.

During the preview, Microsoft will have a few of its own titles available to play through the service. These include the recently-released Gears 5, Sea of Thieves, and Killer Instinct. More titles will be available over time.

To register for the technical preview, you can head to this website. Not everyone who signs up will necessarily be selected for the preview, and invites will be sent out in phases, starting with the first one in October. This preview program is only for the cloud streaming service, but Microsoft is planning to offer the ability to stream games from your own Xbox One console. This, however, will be talked about more at a later date.

Report a problem with article
Next Article

DiRT Rally 2.0, Cities: Skylines, and more join Xbox Game Pass for PC

Previous Article

Power BI template apps update capability is now available in preview

Join the conversation!

Login or Sign Up to read and post a comment.

5 Comments - Add comment