Rejoice: Google Forms will now autosave your progress when filling forms

Time and again, we have to fill in Google Forms for multiple reasons including participating in a survey, filling in our personal details for an application, or providing feedback. While this is a tedious process by itself for many, it becomes even more cumbersome when you lose all the data you filled in a form because you accidentally closed the browser window or lost internet connection. If you are among those impacted by these issues, you will be pleased to know that Google is bringing autosave capabilities to Google Forms.

A Google Form about an electoral voting application based on blockchain

Google says that any information that you fill in on a Form will now be saved automatically and will be available in that state for 30 days or until you submit the form. The company says that this has been a highly requested feature, especially for those who can't fill in the form in one sitting, suffer from poor internet connectivity, or want to switch devices for some reason while filling in a form.

The autosave status will be showed by an icon at the top of the form alongside the text "Draft saved". However, Google has noted that this capability won't work when you are offline. It has also stated that if you lose access to the form, you'll lose access to the draft as well. Similarly, your draft may also be affected if the form owner deletes a question, changes the branching logic, or modifies a question.

The capability will be enabled by default for for all form editors and owners. However, they can choose to disable it by going to Settings > Presentation > Restrictions and toggling "Disable autosave for all respondents". Similarly, consumers of forms can view their draft by reopening the URL for the form while signed in to the same Google account.

The feature will be available to all personal Google accounts, Google Workspace, and G Suite Basic and Business customers. The capability is being enabled on an "Extended Rollout" basis, which means that it may take longer than 15 days for it to become visible on your account. For Rapid Release domains, the rollout started on August 3, while for Scheduled release domains, it starts on September 15.

Report a problem with article
PowerToys logo full color on beige and colorful background
Next Article

PowerToys 0.43 out with loads of bug fixes including one for Awake high CPU usage

The Facebook logo with a stop sign background colour scheme
Previous Article

Facebook bans NYU Ad Observatory's accounts for unauthorized data scraping

1 Comments - Add comment

Advertisement