When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Here’s how it works.

Russia demands 13 foreign tech firms to open offices on Russian soil by January 1, 2022

Russia is setting some stringent demands on 13 foreign technology companies operating on Russian soil. These 13 foreign companies consist predominantly of U.S. technology firms who have been given a deadline of the end of 2021 to comply to the demands.

The website of the Russian state communications regulator, Roskomnadzor, published the information on Monday night without exact details of what these firms are required to do. The tech firms are to establish a representative office, branch, or Russian legal entity for foreign individuals. In addition, these companies must add an electronic feedback form for Russian users on their respective websites.

These demands are being enforced upon social media giant tech firms that average more than half a million daily users and includes Alphabet's Google, Twitter, Facebook, TikTok, Apple, Zoom, Spotify, Viber, and others. While Microsoft has not been added to the list, the Redmond company has stated its concerns with cybersecurity as it relates to Russia.

These 13 companies must register a personal account on the Roskomnadzor website in order to communicate with authorities and must also install an attendance counter. Roskomnadzor states that firms that fail to comply with this legislation may face data collection, money transfer limitations, and bans within Russia.

Report a problem with article
A screenshot of the Yoti app with the EU COVID-19 Vaccine Certificate
Next Article

Yoti lets you add your EU COVID-19 Vaccine Certificate to its app

Microsoft&039s Digital AmBEtion logo
Previous Article

Microsoft to create new datacenter region in Belgium to deliver cloud solutions

Join the conversation!

Login or Sign Up to read and post a comment.

24 Comments - Add comment