When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Here’s how it works.

After two years in early access, Obsidian's survival game Grounded is now out

Xbox Game Studios' Obsidian Entertainment now has another game release under its belt. After over two years of continuous updates, Grounded, the cooperative survival game with shrunken down protagonists, has finally left its early access tag behind and has reached version 1.0.

The game follows four friends that have been mysteriously shrunk to the size of an ant. Now stuck in the backyard, the group has to explore, build, and survive the perilous new setting with its "giant" insects and various biomes.

With the full release, the game now touts 13 biomes, 44 creatures, and a full-fledged storyline that follows the mystery behind the shrunken protagonists. The new update has brought 10 minutes of cinematic cutscenes, hundreds of lines of fully voice acted dialog, new bosses, armor sets, weapons, building materials, achievements, and much more. Head here for the complete changelog of Grounded 1.0.

Grounded spider boss

Being developed by a small team at Obsidian, Grounded entered Steam Early Access and Xbox Game Preview (alongside Xbox Game Pass) programs in 2020. Within just 48 hours of launch, the game had gathered over a million players, and by 2022, that number had reached over 10 million. The title also features handy arachnophobia safe options to make its numerous spiders less spider-like.

Grounded is now available on PC (Steam and Microsoft Store), Xbox One, and Xbox Series X|S with a $39.99 price tag. The game is also included on Xbox and PC Game Pass, as well as Xbox Cloud Gaming services.

Report a problem with article
Intel Arc A770 GPU
Next Article

Intel claims Arc A770 is better than Nvidia RTX 3060 Ti, AMD RX 6700 XT for just $329

Windows Update for Windows 11
Previous Article

KB5019311 (build 22621.525) OOB update fixes Windows 11 22H2 installation media issue

Join the conversation!

Login or Sign Up to read and post a comment.

6 Comments - Add comment