When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Here’s how it works.

Zoom will be rolling out new call controls for paid customers

Zoom announced in a blog post that paid customers will be able to select the countries through which their virtual meetings are routed April 18 onwards. This change comes as a result of a report published earlier this month which revealed that calls were being routed through data centers in China even though none of the users in the meeting was based in the country. Theoretically, the Chinese government could force Zoom to disclose those encryption keys.

As per the announcement, all paid customers will be able to “opt in or out of a specific data center region." However, this does not mean that users can opt-out of their default regions, which will remain locked. Zoom has 19 data centers, based in these regions: Australia, Canada, China, Europe, India, Japan/Hong Kong, Latin America, and the U.S.

Although free users will not be able to change their default region, Zoom has assured that data for non-China users won't be routed through China. After facing backlash over several security vulnerabilities being reported within the app, Zoom CEO Eric Yuan announced on April 1 that the company was enacting a 90-day feature freeze to fix the security issues with the service. Until then, no new features would be released.

Report a problem with article
Next Article

Quibi reports 1.7 million downloads in its first week

Previous Article

Mozilla adds support for a few more extensions to Firefox Preview

Join the conversation!

Login or Sign Up to read and post a comment.

1 Comment - Add comment